My Best Friend: The Superhero

There are a lot of superheroes and heroines I look up to; most of them come from comic books, comic book related TV shows (i.e. Agents of SHIELD and Agent Carter), movies, Doctor Who and the many books I have read. Yes, all of these characters have some sentimental value to me in more ways than one…but there’s one that will always be number one.

My Best Friend.

She’s literally a mixture of Amy Pond and Black Widow. I know that’s a weird thing to say about someone, but if you knew me and knew her…being compared to your favorite companion and super-heroine is HUGE compliment. However, that’s not why she’s number one on my list.

She’s number one on my list because she’s been through Hell, and yet she’s always come back smiling and stronger than before. Like most recently she’s been in the hospital for the past few days, but even with all of the crap she’s gone through…she’s been a trooper.

We’ve been friends going on three years now, and she’s always been there for me. Same goes for her; whenever she’s needed someone to talk I’m always there. We’ve got each others’ backs. She’s the Black Widow to my Hawkeye: The sassiest, most badass friendship there is.

Another reason why she’s number one on my heroes list is because she inspires me every single day to try my best. It’s her voice that’s inside my head that keeps pushing me to do better. Whenever I have an anxiety attack (which is happening more frequently these days, unfortunately), she’s always the one that helps calm me down. Even today, when I said I was worried sick about her, she reassured me that she was going to be fine and that she was only going to be in the hospital for a few more days.

Basically, without her in my life, I would be a wreck. I honestly don’t know what kind of a place I would be in right now if it weren’t for her. She has saved me on so many occasions, that she really does deserve a cape; she is my hero. And I love her for that very much.

We have FaceTimed numerous occasions, but the number one thing STILL on my bucket list is to fly to California, meet her in person, give her the biggest hug and tell her how much she means to me in person.

Another great friendship we resemble: Glinda and Elphaba. And, as Elphaba says in the song “For Good”:

So much of me
Is made of what I learned from you.
You’ll be with me
Like a handprint on my heart.
And now whatever way our stories end
I know you have rewritten mine
By being my friend.

She’s not just my best friend, she’s my family. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. Xx ♥

Leave a Reply

