Happy Single’s Awareness Day!

February 14th: Valentine’s Day. The most infamous day of the year where it’s commercialized and romanticized, thanks to the candy and card companies. I honestly don’t consider it a holiday. I mean, what kind of a holiday is it when you have to celebrate the people you love ONE day a year? Answer: It’s a lousy holiday! You are supposed to love 365 days a year! Not just one. I don’t know about you guys, but I plan on loving my friends every…single…day of my life, not just once for a pointless 24 hours.

Anyway, my Valentine’s Day started off a bit rough. I woke up this morning at 11:45 am, which is really late for me. I only got out of bed to use the restroom, and then I went back to bed. After that, I didn’t get leave my bed for another half hour. I don’t know what got into me, but I just didn’t feel like myself. I had this heaviness and tightness in my head and chest, and I felt extreme sadness. I honestly did not want to leave my room. I don’t know what it is about this particular day, but it just makes me feel alone for some reason. I never feel like I am loved by anyone on Valentine’s Day.

However, that all changed with one act of kindness. I managed to get myself out of bed to stretch my legs, and I leave my room to see if I’ve any important events. Then, out of nowhere, my friend Grace gives me this giant red envelope. I open it and it’s a GIANT Valentine! I had honestly never gotten a Valentine that was remotely important in my entire life, and she was the first person to give me one. And when I opened it, I cried. They weren’t tears of sadness, but tears of joy. It was that moment that made me realize that…I am actually cared about. And that I am actually loved.

Then, for the rest of the night I watched nothing but comedies and Disney. It was just the cure I needed. It also showed me something. It showed that I don’t need men to be happy. I only need my friends and family to be happy, and feel loved. And they made this Single’s Awareness Day bearable. I can honestly say if it weren’t for my friends, this day wouldn’t have gotten any better. So, this blog is to my friends. Thanks guys for showing the love today! I hope we can hang out more, because you girls make my days so much more exciting…and happy.

HAPPY SINGLE’S AWARENESS DAY, EVERYONE! Hope you had varying degrees of love today, and I hope that the other 364 days of your year are just as loved filled!

Leave a Reply

