Be Your Own Best Friend

Hello my fellow bloggers! Sorry I haven’t written anything in a while. I’ve had a lot going on recently, as well as some personal things that have put me in a slump these past few days. But, the slump is over and I’m ready to right.

One thing that has been on my mind a lot lately is something rather simple, but also very complex: Friendship. Now, looking back on my history of friendships I can honestly say I’ve never had a true “best friend”. That’s different now, obviously (Love you lots Sarah Danielle, Lindsay Dettman, Lily Nelsen, Jessie Eichner, Rae Siehs and Kaylin Olson ^_^!) but I guess why it’s taken me so long to find actual friends is because I was never really surrounded by encouraging people at school. I’ve also felt like that for the first couple days at college, but one day I met some great girls…and we just instantly clicked.

What makes the five girls listed above so special to me is that they love more for who I am, weirdness and all. I think that if they were asked about me, they would be able to tell you almost everything about me–weird and not weird. But that’s what I love about these girls. They bring out the best in me. I really wouldn’t be where I am today, if it weren’t for the help of all of these fabulous women. I hope that when I get older, I can be as amazing as them. These women…are my heroes. and I love them all to pieces. Each one of them has given me amazing advice over the years, and I’ve kept all of it in mind all of these years. Granted, I’ve ignored some of it…but not because I didn’t want to listen, it was because I was being stubborn at the time, and they’ve had to “kick my butt” in order to get me to head in the right direction. Call me cheesy, bu these ladies are my guardian angels. They mean more to me than any of my materialistic possessions. And, I wouldn’t trade them for anything in the world.

Something I’ve also learned from them, as well as through personal discovery is that I need to be my own best friend. I need to find time for myself and enjoy the things I love to do. Without restrictions, and without procrastination. The time I carve out for myself will be used fully, and I will be happy for it too.

http://lonerwolf.com/how-to-become-your-own-best-friend/

The link above is from one of my favorite articles from the website Lonerwolf.com. It’s a basic guide on how to become your own best friend. And, after being in many funks/rough patches in my life…I can honestly say that this article has given me some ideas on how I can spend my “me time”. Who knows, maybe in the coming days, this article may even help me get on track to being happy again.

Tips for Being Your Own Best Friend

1. Praise yourself, rather than waiting for others to do it for you.

If you do something YOU are proud of, then praise yourself! It’s not being selfish by any means. Dwell on your accomplishment, and take it in.

2. Realize that you are fundamentally worthy.

Like my favorite Broadway Star, Sierra Boggess says: “You are enough. You are so enough. It’s unbelievable how enough you are.” This quote is 100% true! If you believe that you are enough, the things you overcome and accomplish will blow your mind!

3. Laugh at yourself.

Laughing is essential to any friendship. It made be hard to laugh at yourself at first, but once time passes, you will learn to see that laughing at yourself will help make room for many more cheerful things in your life.

4. Accept, rather than punish yourself.

Learn to love everything about yourself, rather than hating everything. You will go nowhere by hating everything about yourself; no one is perfect. Your imperfections make you imperfectly perfect. Accept that you were made in your own unique image, and tons of doors on your journey will open.

5. Spend a lot of time discovering more about your character/personality.

Take some alone time to yourself, and find out who you are as a person. Go for a walk, shut out your surroundings, and just listen to yourself. You will be surprised at what you uncover.

6. Cultivate self-awareness.

Your beliefs, assumptions, inner workings, thoughts and feelings make you…YOU! Be aware of each of these, and how they make you feel. Knowing how each one works will help you become in touch with yourself more.

7. Seek out Solitude.

Don’t be afraid to be alone. Sometimes, being alone is when you are the happiest. No one will be able to bother you, Drama will be far away, and distractions aren’t even in sight. Being alone restores your body’s functions, and develops a strong bond with your inner self.

8. Learn how to support and comfort yourself.

Don’t worry about what others want to do. Comfort yourself, and do the things that make YOU happy. Forget about everyone else! Be a little bit selfish, and do things that cater to your health and well-being. Be strong enough to stand on your own two feet, smile proudly, and take pride in knowing that you can be YOUR OWN best friend.

9. Learn how to have fun alone.

You don’t need people to have fun! You can have more than enough fun by yourself! Find interests you can do by yourself, and enjoy them! Human contact is not necessary to have fun! It will deepen the bond with yourself.

10. Do a random act of kindness for yourself each day.

Treat yourself to something special every single day. Putting time an effort into your life will make you happier. Doing this will show you have respect and love for your life. A little special something done for yourself, will definitely make you smile.

11. Listen to your body.

The signs your body is giving you: TAKE THEM! You won’t be able to be a happy person if you ignore the aches and pains. Take these signs seriously, and show some self-respect for your body. Be your own best friend to your body.

12. Learn to focus on positive things about yourself, rather than negative.

Breathe in the positivity, let go of the negativity. The bad energy in your life is making it more toxic; when you cut it out completely you will feel a hug load lifted off your shoulders! Say nice things about yourself. I know it sounds cheesy, but it really does work! Finding one thing you like about yourself each day WILL help boost your confidence. Your happiness level will go through the rough! BE POSITIVE! You’ll be surprised at how happy you are by focusing on the positive things in your life.

Hope these tips help you guys! And it’s not only you that decides all of these things, with the right people in your life and surroundings…Your life will be better. Your life will be happier.

2 comments

  1. camillevt · February 25, 2015

    I totally agree that you should try to be your own best friend. This post actually reminded me of something that I saw on Tumblr, and then became my New Years resolution: “Treat yourself like you would a favourite character.” So, that means getting to really know yourself. Know your back story, and what makes you do what you do. Be kind to yourself and love yourself despite your flaws. It’s definitely made me much more compassionate towards myself and life has become better because of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

