So Many Things To Be Thankful For

So, yesterday was Thanksgiving, or as I like to call it: “Macy’s Parade and Dog Show” day. I don’t know if this would be considered a tradition, but every year my family and I watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. We always get up at 9 am, and turn on channel twenty-six because that’s the channel that shows the performances from the hottest Broadway shows and TV specials; that’s ALWAYS my favorite part. I was especially excited because at this year’s parade, they previewed NBC’s Peter Pan Live. I was excited for The Sound of Music Live, but Peter Pan has Christian Borle AND Kelli O’Hara! You know it’s going to be awesome when TWO Tony greats are in it! And the fact that Allison Williams looks drop dead gorgeous…She may be my new Woman Crush Wednesday, and I’m not ashamed to admit that.

After the parade was over, I head to Golden Coral with my sister, mom and grandpa and we had a Thanksgiving Buffet lunch. Good quality food for a low price? You can’t go wrong with that. It was good just to spend time with them, and catch up. I don’t get much time to see my grandpa anyway, so when he comes we can chill, and occasionally joke. He asks the awkward question every now and again, but isn’t that what Thanksgiving conversation is about? Good times and awkward, light-hearted banter? I think that the awkwardness makes for killer stories for years to come.

After we gorged ourselves at the buffet, we came back home and watched The Purina National Dog Show. I don’t know what it is about seeing different kinds of dogs all shooting for the top prize of “Best In Show”, but lots and lots of puppies say THANKSGIVING to me. Although, it may have been a bad decision on my part. Every dog that came out onto the show floor…I wanted! Being a dog person, and NOT having a dog is very hard. Every dog you see you either want to: adopt, rescue, or kidnap ninja style. The last one may not be ideal, but still…Puppies are my kryptonite! I just want to hug and cuddle them all! Is that too much to ask? I think not.

To top off my Thanksgiving, my mom and I went to see a movie while my sister had to work Black Friday. However, we did not see the same movie. My mom went and saw Horrible Bosses 2. I don’t know why she would see that movie, the first one was far from funny, and from what I heard this one was the same. Anyway, she went to go see it and she liked it. I, on the other hand went to go see Mockingjay: Part One. I must say, it was a good movie…all except for the ending. The could’ve done better with the ending; showing us Katniss walking towards a crazy Peeta isn’t exactly a nail biter. My favorite part of the movie was when Jennifer Lawrence sang! She said in an interview shoe sounded like a tone deaf Amy Winehouse, but she was far from that! She had a soulfulness to her voice that made the song emotional and intense. The “Hanging Tree” scene was by far my favorite. I’m looking forward to Part Two!

I would list all of the things I am thankful for, but then this might be a super long blog and I wouldn’t want to bore you with every single detail. I am thankful for all of the tough moments in my life I’ve been through because without them, I wouldn’t be where I am now. I’m thankful for all of my friends and family who have been my rock many times when I needed them the most. I’m thankful for music because music is the one thing in my life that is a constant safety blanket; it makes me feel like I belong. ♥

Thanksgiving-quotes

Leave a Reply

