Do What You Love

So, last night I performed in my first band concert of my Senior Year at Lakeland College. Last night reminded me why I love being a musician. The concert knocked the roof off the Bradley! I’ve been in Band since sixth grade, and it was one of the best decisions I’ve made. Yeah, I like choir…don’t get me wrong, BUT Band will ALWAYS be number one in my heart. And, it made me smile when my mom gave me a HUGE hug after the concert, and said, “Great job, bud. Tell your band director I liked the music.”

The reason why I love music so much is that it has the power to change the world. And if it can change the world, it can change people.

My favorite music quote is, “Music is my Religion.” This amazing quote was said by the most kick as guitar player in all of history: Jimi Hendrix. And I have to agree with him on this.

Music is the best Religion out there! It doesn’t cause any problems, there are no fights or nuclear war if people disagree on what type of music is their favorite, and it connects everyone in the world together. Just like the loads different religions, there are loads of different genres of music. They may be differences in their structure, but there is one commonality: words. Words have to power to say so much, especially in music.

“Music expresses that which can not be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.” – Victor Hugo

When you can’t think of anything to say, say it with music. Find a song that expresses how you feel, and it will do the rest of the work. Let your own person style in music guide you on your path to greatness.

Leave a Reply

