Consider Yourself At Home

“Auditioning is extremely bizarre. Just being an actor is extremely bizarre, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.” — Adelaide Kane

“I like auditioning! A lot of people hate it, but I like it.” — Aaron Tveit

Judgement Day is almost here! Saturday is tomorrow, and I’m in the final hours of prepping for my audition! Auditioning is exciting and scary to me. Exciting because you get to show off your talent and showcase them to casting directors and the administrators of the show. Scary because you don’t have anything to play off of. It just: you, the three directors, and the accompanist. You have to channel all that nervous energy into your song and monologue. Once you do that…It will most certainly pay off in the end.

For my audition, I chose Whatever Happened To My Part (Diva’s Lament) from the show Spamalot as my song. The monologue I shoe for my audition is from the show Thanksgiving in the Wilderness. Originally I was told to do something that was like my personality. From what I’ve learned, my personality can only get me so far. I wanted to do something different, and step outside of the box. I wanted to do something that was UNLIKE my personality; that’s why I chose The Lady of the Lake. She’s a fierce water fairy, and I feel like I channel energy in my audition, I feel like I can nail my audition. Now, to counter the upbeat, funny song…I chose a dramatic monologue. From the tips I’ve gotten, They say to do two pieces on the opposite ends of the spectrum; this way it shows the variety in my acting. This tip is going to help me in the final hours leading up to my audition. That, and along with my final memorization hours.

I feel right at home auditioning. It gives me something to do; it keeps me busy. I like having things to do, because as an actress you never know when you are going to have your next big role. You are constantly wondering when the next audition will be. However, trying to find the next audition is also really fun! Who knows, that next audition may take you to another city, or even another state! That’s why I’m doing this audition down it Chicago. It’s is my first PROFESSIONAL audition I’ve done in my entire theatre career, and I figured it would be a good experience for me. I’ve also prepared myself for that IF I do not get accepted into AMDA…there’s always going to be other options. The theatre program at UWGB is the Mid-West version of AMDA, and it’s just as good…if not better!

It’s not the end of the world if I don’t get this audition, it’s a good experience for me, and I’m grateful that I did it. It also wouldn’t have been possible if my mom didn’t support me. My mom wants me to go after my dreams as much as possible, and honestly, she’s the reason why I’m doing this. I want to make her proud one day, and WHEN I am FINALLY painted green defying gravity, singing eight shows a week and WIN the Tony for Best Leading Actress in a Musical…She will be THE FIRST one I thank.

Musical Theatre is in my blood. I eat, sleep and breathe it. The Broadway Show Tunes coarse through my veins, and the thrill of being on stage, doing something I love makes me happy. I can’t wait for that day when someone comes up to me and says, “Because of you, I want to do Musical Theatre. You inspired me to chase my dreams.” When that day comes when I accept my Tony award…A shout out to ALL of the Wallflowers is going to be made, and they will know…”You are enough. You are so enough. It’s unbelievable how enough you are.”

Leave a Reply

