You Are Enough!

Do any of you have an affirmation? How about a favorite mantra or word that you repeat to yourself if you are ever feeling down? Well, what you don’t know about those affirmations, mantras or words is that despite being small, have the power to create HUGE change.

The affirmation that I always go with is one that has stuck in my head since I can remember.One day, I was looking through YouTube, and I found an episode of Daaé Days, which was Sierra’ Boggess’s Vlog for when she was Christine at Phantom of the Opera. The episode I was watching had her voice teacher/coach Mary Setrakian on it. First of all: I was in awe of both of them. These ladies are absolutely fantastic, and beautifully amazing. Anyway, Sierra was talking with Mary about how the mantra “You are enough. You are so enough. It’s unbelievable how enough you are” was born. Hearing the story how it was created just captivated me.

The reason why I love this affirmation/mantra is because it’s wording is so simple, yet the message is so powerful. I’ve said this to myself many times before a play/musical that I was in, and it’s completely gotten rid of all the nerves I had within my body. It even helped give a better performance if you can believe that! It’s my go to affirmation if I ever need cheering up any time of the day.

Another reason why I love this affirmation is because is that it has gotten me through some really rough times. There have been times in my life where I wanted to give up because I didn’t think my dream of being on Broadway, and becoming the next Elphaba would ever come true. But somehow, there were always these two voices who kept saying to me, “You are enough. You are so enough. It’s unbelievable how enough you are.” Those voices were Mary and Sierra. I know that sounds crazy, but everyone has those voices that motivate them. Mine just happen to be Mary and Sierra, and they’ve helped me through every single obstacle I’ve gone through.

And, thanks to Sierra and Mary…I have an audition for the NYC campus of the American Musical and Dramatic Academy (AMDA) down in Chicago in 17 days! This is the first ever professional audition I’ve ever had in my entire theatre career! Their mantra has helped my confidence so much as an actress, and singer. If I could thank them both in person, I would. I owe my new found confidence in performing on stage, as well as in my college’s choir and band to them. I say “You are enough” to myself before every concert at my college, and by the time it’s over I have a huge smile on my face. Mary and Sierra are not only hero’s of mine, they are my role models and inspiration to live a happier life! I hope that one day I can be as influential they are. I have completed FOUR affirmations journals because of them, and currently filling up a fifth!

So, to whoever reads this…always remember: You are enough. You are so enough. It’s unbelievable how enough you are. If you believe that your dreams are possible, they will become reality. If you believe that YOU are possible, you can do anything you set your mind to! All you have to do is think that you can do it, and you will have those thoughts turned into actions. A positive mind produces positive thoughts. And positive thoughts produce positive dreams. Positive dreams create positive people, and the more positivity you have. they happier you will be.

Leave a Reply

